Drinking more water

As most of you know, the average person is told to drink at least 1.5 litres of water a day.  I have been brought up carrying my water bottle around with me, and am usually comfortable drinking my daily water intake.

However there are times when I exercise, or for whatever reason I feel extra dehydrated and want something more than just water to quench my thirst.  In such times, I usually add about 20ml of apple juice to my water bottle, or a touch more if I need more electrolytes. I also use cranberry juice, but have a hard time finding cranberry juice that does not have any added sugar in it.

I find that adding a juice that is 100% pure juice (and has no added sugar) is best, my favourite is cloudy apple juice, it feels so natural. The electrolytes in the juice aid hydration and make it tastier and easier to consume on a daily basis. I also find that this hydrates me more in humid weather, or when I exercise, rather than having pure water. Or even adding a slice of lemon or lime to my water is great too!

Something else useful to note, is that if you drink tea or coffee (or I guess other liquids with caffeine), or other liquids that dehydrate you, then you need to drink even more water to balance it out, so tea and coffee do not count towards your daily water intake 🙂

Leave a comment